LIVING IN BOGOTA, COLOMBIA

Hey, long time no see! I have been kind of distracted from blogging just with life and all, but I finally finished my post on my visit to Bogota… So here it is!

When I arrived in Bogota. My first impressions:

Their Spanish is neat, but rapid. The air is cold and what they call deli (delicioso=delicious). They are friendly to the utmost point.

Bienvenidos a Bogotá.

IMG_4356.jpg

This city is 2,640 meters ( or about 8,300ft) above sea level. That’s a long way from the ocean.

My family (whom I met once was I young) gave me a name of endearment. My name was officially Caro. (If able, pronounce with a Latin American accent, if not, the English version will be adequate)

Not Carolina or Caroline, but Caro. They are quite sweet 🙂

DSC07936

They have two cats. One loves to be petted and the other hates it. They look exactly alike and it is slightly (okay  very) difficult to tell them apart. Sometimes I accidentally petted the wrong cat and I have scratch marks to show it.

DSC07956

And the city is quite beautiful with its brick buildings and tall mountains. The people are super generous and kind. I struggle constantly with my Spanish (it’s getting better though!) and the person with whom I am conversing  will reduce the speed of their quick words and talk slower with more pronunciation in order that I can understand.

On a Tuesday, I visited El Museo del Botero. This museum holds many paintings of the Colombian artist of Fernanado Botero, but also has a few works of Picasso and Dalí. Suffice to say, it was a really cool museum.

IMG_5245

Besides the  language and  the city, the food is pretty amazing. I am in LOVE with the lentils. They just don’t make them quite like this in the U.S. And grilled plantains. Muy rico (Very tasty).

My “mother” in Bogota had some friends over for late lunch and made a delectable salad. I asked her for the name but she said she just invented it. So I call it La Ensalada de Juanita   (Juanita’s Salad).

DSC07983.JPG

DSC07985.JPG

Here’s the recipe:

1 cup of cherry tomatoes, sliced in half

1 white onion, cut in slices

3/4 cup corn

1/4 head of lettuce or about 1/2 cup lettuce, washed

1 tablespoon brown sugar

2 tablespoons vinegar

3 tablespoons olive oil

Pinches of Salt and pepper to taste

  1. Combine the tomatoes, onion, and corn together in a large bowl.
  2. Mix the brown sugar, vinegar, olive oil, and salt/pepper together. (add salt and pepper to your liking)
  3. Add the dressing to the bowl of vegetables and combine well.
  4. Put the salad on a nice plate. Then tear up the lettuce and place around the salad on the edge of the plate, sort of like a wreath. (See above photos)
  5. Enjoy your delicious salad!

Bogotá is truly a great city to visit.

And as the Colombians say, ‘Chau!’

Stay Elegant, Caroline

Leave a Reply

